Output transmit garbled

General discussion and support for the Peaberry SDR V2.

Re: Output transmit garbled

Postby TerryFrench » Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:55 pm

Given that the preamp was made so that it could be inside the HR-50, and the HR-50 is all bands, I would have guessed that LPF would not have been much of an issue, but now I'm curious.
The HR-50 guys did mention that the amp (TX) is compliant only when fed with a compliant source. So we take a good source (Peaberry), pass it through a first amp with a LPF that will be quite or very "wide", then into an amp that will do some good filtering on any given band being used. (60m only if you have the ATU).

I'm very interested in your measurements and findings to understand what extra filtering would or would not be needed at the preamp-level.
TerryFrench
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 3:56 am
Location: Redmond, WA USA

Re: Output transmit garbled

Postby kd5kll » Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:25 pm

The HR50 has band pass or low pass filters built in, so the driver doesn't need a filter if just bumping up the signal to feed the amp. But if you are using the driver as a 5W or 10W amp, a low pass filter would be required.
kd5kll
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 9:59 pm

Re: Output transmit garbled

Postby W4MMP » Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:37 pm

Hi,
Well, truth be told I run the driver into a linear that has all the band filtering. I keep the linear at about 10 Watts. I needed the driver since 1W or less (the 30/20/17/15 will only make about 0.75W at most) would not drive the linear.
73
Ron / W4MMP
W4MMP
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 3:31 pm
Location: Lovettsville, Virginia FM19EG

Re: Output transmit garbled

Postby TerryFrench » Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:02 pm

I missed the case of using the preamp as the "final" amp.
TerryFrench
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 3:56 am
Location: Redmond, WA USA

Re: Output transmit garbled

Postby kd5kll » Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:03 pm

Sorry, it was probably a miscommunication on my part.

I want to do this:

https://sites.google.com/site/hardrock50beta/5-10w-driver-amp/using-the-driver-as-a-5w-pa

I'm running my radio into an attic antenna, so I'm limited on power before bad things start to happen (tripping alarms, messing up the XYL's tv reception, rf exposure, starting small fires...) I was looking at using the driver to get up to 10W. I know some people run up to 100W (some reports of 1kW!) on attic dipoles, but I'm paranoid... I figure 10W should be enough to have fun on JT65/9 and PSK31.
kd5kll
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 9:59 pm

Previous

Return to Peaberry SDR V2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron