HDSDR question

General discussion and support for the Peaberry SDR V2.

HDSDR question

Postby ka9pie » Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:20 pm

Hello all, I am a newbie to SDR and psk31. I have been building the V2 over the last three weeks and am at the fully functional receiver stage. It works great, but haven't figured out how to get the audio output to feed "DigiPan". I have tried configuring the output of HDSDR and the input of DigiPan, but haven't yet got it right. I would appreciate if anyone could point me in the right direction. Digipan is the only program that I have used, but I would like suggestions on others. The experience of building the Peaberry V2 has been great, am looking forward to finishing and putting it on the air.

73 John ka9pie
ka9pie

Re: HDSDR question

Postby TerryFrench » Mon Mar 23, 2015 4:50 am

I've never used Digipan, but I think what you are looking for might be a way to pipe the audio from HDSDR into another program.
You need to look into "Virtual audio cables" (VAC). Search for posts about them on this forum. On my config (Win 8.1 x64), I'm using a VAC program that has no signed kernel drivers, so while I built and posted on this forum a pdf file explaining how to boot window and have the drivers working, that's a real pain point.

What some other folks on this forum do is use a cable between line out and line in of one or 2 audio cards to physically route the audio from one SW to another. I'd rather get the SW version without any extra Digital to Analog to Digital conversions, but with more driver pain.

So you get
peaberry out -> HDSDR -> Virtual Audio cable -> Other app (as an input).
Other app (output) -> Virtual Audio Cable -> HDSDR (as the microphone) -> Peaberry in
Assuming I typed that well.