Page 5 of 12

Re: ExpertSDR

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:55 am
by W4MMP
Hi,
Over on the English forum, I received a response to that same question. The only thing mentioned in the response is the ExpertSDR is using QT4. So, I suppose I will track down a copy of QT4 and give that a go.

Re: ExpertSDR

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:58 am
by kk4tye
I tried on both Linux and Windows using QT Creator with no successes.

Re: ExpertSDR

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2015 2:42 am
by W4MMP
Yes, same here. If we could just get a clean compile of the existing source, then modifications could begin. I will keep working at it as time permits.

I really hope that somehow someone can get this the source to compile as this is the answer to most of my issues with SDR host software in relationship to supporting the Peaberry (specifically making multiple Peaberrys operate as one rig, from the perspective of the host application). While most of the host applications are free, most are closed source.

Re: ExpertSDR

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 4:16 am
by W4MMP
Hi,
I am making progress.
1) Go to this link (http://download.qt.io/official_releases/qt/4.8/4.8.6/) and download qt-opensource-windows-x86-vs2010-4.8.6.exe and run the exe. This is assuming that MS Virtual Studio 2010 is installed.

2) Start QT Creator. (This assumes that QT5 for Windows has been installed). Click on Tools->Options->Kits. Click on Add. This will bring up a configuration screen. Under the complier drop down select "Microsoft Visual C++ Compiler 10.0 (x86). At this point I need some help. I have no idea what the debugger is for MS VS 2010. If someone know what this is please let us know. Now set this new added kit as default by clicking on "Make Default"

3) Click on the QT Version Tab. Click on Manual and then click on Add. A dialog will pop asking where Qmake is located. Navigate to the "bin" directory of where ever the EXE in line 1 above installed the package.

4) Exit out of QT Creator.

5) If previous attempts were made to compile ExpertSDR, navigate to the source directory and delete "ExpertSDR_va2_1.pro.user". Now click (or double click) on ExpertSDR_va2_1.pro . QT Creator will start and the project will need to be configured. Click on the name of the kit that was configured with the above steps and the click on "Configure Project". NOTE: When starting QT Creator by clicking on the .pro QT Creator (at least on my machine) appears to hang. It is not hanging but it does take a minute or two to return control. During this period of time Windows may report that QT Creator is not responding. Just let it sit for a bit.

6) Click on Build->Build ALL.

OK, as I said, progress, close but no cigar. The compilation now at least gets past not finding QT libraries and header files. It now fails on not finding header files that appear to be part of the MS Windows Driver Kit. I am in the process of downloading and installing the WDK. It is a very large file and on DSL it is taking a while to download.

I will report back if and when I make further progress.
Again, if anyone knows what to point to when configuring the debugger for windows, please post here.

(RANT: For heavens sakes, has the global software development community given up on backwards compatibility? Why in the world does the latest version of QT NOT compile existing source? Good grief !!)

Re: ExpertSDR

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 8:24 pm
by florin.tanasa
Hi,
I see exist some people what wish to use a version of ExpertSDR for linux.
I put my work in this repo
https://github.com/florintanasa/OpenExpertSDR
and https://github.com/florintanasa/libDttSP.so
Nothing is finished yet because the DttSP is not ported totally.
You can compile together and install libDttSP.so in /usr/lib
Test with wav from this page http://www.dk3qn.com/wfSDRwav.htm or with jack and mplayer or with your sdr.
To compile libDttSP.so
mkdir git
cd git
git clone https://github.com/florintanasa/libDttSP.so
cd libDttSP.so
mkdir build
#edit the line path from CMakeList.txt for your needs
cd build
cmake ..
make
sudo cp libDttSP.so /usr/lib
To compile ExpertSDR you can use qtcreator, kdevelop or simple qmake and after that make
If exist someone what can help me I not refuse is necessary functions:
sendcommand from update.c and anothers from winmain.c (client/server what work with fifo file) to be ported from windows to linux.

LE> I am not programmer so not expect very much from me but I make all can.

Re: ExpertSDR

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 11:47 pm
by kk4tye
florin.tanasa,

Couldn't you get DttSP from Sdr-core? you can download it from https://codeload.github.com/glenoverby/dttsp/zip/master

Re: ExpertSDR

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 12:22 pm
by florin.tanasa
Thanks.
I know this lib is the last version of DttSP but this is not usable with ExpertSDR what use a old lib.
Also in DttSP.dll you have source of sdr-core. This is a trick, because add in lib also the program what communicate internal.
The sdr-core use only jack but the lib used in ExpertSDR is write to work also with alsa.

LE> OpenExpertSDR from my repo can be compilled with qt5 only

Re: ExpertSDR

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 12:29 pm
by kk4tye
Ok thanks for the info

Re: ExpertSDR

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 12:50 pm
by florin.tanasa
Congratulation for AE9RB and for him work, because share all open source.
Genesis not share all open source, I think not more understood the lesson from arduino success.
I am correct and I can say the Tasa is a big man in sdr world.
My plan is to use G11 with ExpertSDR, odroid U2/U3 and lcd 7" with arduino or another controller for cpanel function because is not necessary to consume hundred watts to out with 10W.

Re: ExpertSDR

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 9:05 pm
by florin.tanasa
I am on the road
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dosPsTyKI7s
I not add modification at repo because I make only 2 function SetOsc() and SetMode().