Fuse F1

General discussion and support for the Peaberry SDR V2.

Fuse F1

Postby K1EL » Mon Jan 26, 2015 8:17 pm

Which packet contains F1 ? Can't locate it.
K1EL
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 9:34 pm

Re: Fuse F1

Postby K1EL » Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:26 am

Maybe I wasn't clear enough....
I got the kit today and started building it.
Right off the bat, I could not find the fuse F1.
Looked in all the packets and the taped parts, don't see it, unless it's packaged inside something.
When the parts are kitted, where do you put F1 ?
Or anyone who has built the kit, can you help me out please ???
K1EL
K1EL
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 9:34 pm

Re: Fuse F1

Postby kz1x » Tue Jan 27, 2015 4:03 am

I understood your request the first post, but it's been quite some time since I built my three kits here.

The fuse wasn't hidden or anything, I don't think. It was in a cut of a SMD paper strip, if memory serves.
I am sure when David checks in he will be able to clarify the kitting detail.

Maybe it's just missing.
kz1x
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 1:28 am

Re: Fuse F1

Postby K1EL » Tue Jan 27, 2015 4:26 pm

I have to agree, I carefully checked the whole contents again, just don't have it.
Doesn't seem to be any way to contact David directly to ask him to send me one.
Guess I just have to wait patiently and hope he checks the board sometime soon.
K1EL
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 9:34 pm

Re: Fuse F1

Postby camqrp » Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:37 am

Also memory challenged here, can't remember exactly how all the parts were packaged. If it helps, the fuse is green and was in one of the black plastic carriers, cut from a strip, similar in size to the voltage regulator chips.

Cam N6GA
camqrp
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 12:02 am

Re: Fuse F1

Postby TerryFrench » Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:18 am

it's not easy with this kit, but step one when building a kit is looking and identifying all parts. Check to see if anything else might be missing. Postage might be more than the part.

I had nothing missing in my kit, and I remember getting some paper sheets with the parts taped to them and clearly identified. That was really convenient.
That said, make also sure that you work in a place where you will find the one (or many) parts that will jump away from the soldering iron / tweezers.
Some folks build on top of some baking sheet (for the oven), I preferred building on a white "bench/table", with nothing on the floor (wooden). I think I only had one component flying from this kit, and I was happy to find it :-)

Also get a 10x loupe. search on this forum for recommendations. Your good solder connections will not look as good under 10x magnification, and most problems with this kit are soldering problems. (besides the occasional toroid/transformer count of turns, and bad solder connection (enamel still present)
TerryFrench
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 3:56 am
Location: Redmond, WA USA

Re: Fuse F1

Postby hsquared » Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:36 pm

Currently building V2 and I found the small green fuse in the anti-static bag in a black plastic carrier with the transistors, led, diodes, voltage regulators
and various other components. Hope you find it.
hsquared
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:29 pm

Re: Fuse F1

Postby AE9RB » Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:25 pm

K1EL, I put a fuse in the mail today. If you have a current-limiting power supply, feel free to proceed without the fuse.
73 David AE9RB
AE9RB
Site Admin
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 5:27 am
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA (CN85ql)

Re: Fuse F1

Postby K1EL » Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:03 am

Thanks for that, I used a tiny through hole fuse as a temporary measure.
I'm about half done, no other issues.
K1EL
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 9:34 pm


Return to Peaberry SDR V2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron